What to Read After . . . Game of Thrones

What to Read After ... Game of Thrones

George R. R. Martin’s hit book series “A Game of Thrones (Song of Ice and Fire Series)” has become one of the most popular fantasy series of all time and has spawned an insanely popular tv series! If you are anything like me, you tore through the book series pretty quickly, but then are left waiting for the next book. Luckily there’s other series out there for us read while we all wait the long “winter” for the next entry.

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms (The Inheritance Trilogy) by N. K. JemisinThe Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N. K. Jemisin

From the Publisher: Yeine Darr is an outcast from the barbarian north. But when her mother dies under mysterious circumstances, she is summoned to the majestic city of Sky. There, to her shock, Yeine is named an heiress to the king. But the throne of the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is not easily won, and Yeine is thrust into a vicious power struggle with cousins she never knew she had. As she fights for her life, she draws ever closer to the secrets of her mother’s death and her family’s bloody history.

With the fate of the world hanging in the balance, Yeine will learn how perilous it can be when love and hate – and gods and mortals – are bound inseparably together.

Known for its richly developed characters, imaginative world, and provocative prose, Jemisin’s trilogy has proven to be one of the most intriguing modern day classic fantasies of our time! Much like “Game of Thrones,” the series isn’t afraid to take on politically intriguing issues within an original and fantastical realm.

Prince of Thorns by Mark LawrencePrince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence

From the Publisher: When he was nine, he watched as his mother and brother were killed before him. By the time he was thirteen, he was the leader of a band of bloodthirsty thugs. By fifteen, he intends to be king…

It’s time for Prince Honorous Jorg Ancrath to return to the castle he turned his back on, to take what’s rightfully his. Since the day he hung pinned on the thorns of a briar patch and watched Count Renar’s men slaughter his mother and young brother, Jorg has been driven to vent his rage. Life and death are no more than a game to him—and he has nothing left to lose.

But treachery awaits him in his father’s castle. Treachery and dark magic. No matter how fierce his will, can one young man conquer enemies with power beyond his imagining?

For those of you who love the dark fantastical elements of “Game of Thrones,” you’ll find yourself at home with Lawrence’s “Prince of Thorns.” Putting readers in the shoes of a polarizing main protagonist, this series will undoubtedly push your moral philosophies to their boundaries.

Fatemarked by David EstesFatemarked by David Estes

From the Publisher: An ancient prophecy foretold their coming, the chosen few who will bring peace to a land embroiled in a century of mistrust and war.

When kings start dying, that hope and belief swiftly turns to fear. Roan Loren is one of the fatemarked, but has hidden his mark of power his entire life, fearing the damage it might cause to those around him.

A great evil is coming. He can’t hide anymore.

In the spirit of fantasy epics like Throne of Glass and The Lord of the Rings, enter a world of magic and dragons, kings and queens, and victory and defeat, during a time when honor and valor still meant something.

This was a fantastic read. It is a completely original fantasy with complex characters, a rich, twisty-turny plot and tons of action. Highly recommended!

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa TahirAn Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

From the Publisher: Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.

Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.

It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.

But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.

There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

Much like Martin’s cast of intriguing characters, Tahir’s book offers readers an engrossing alternative world where you’ll root for protagonists who struggle against tyranny and a society that oppresses individuality. Those who cherish the love elements of Martin’s work will also appreciate Tahir’s work.

The Name of the Wind by Patrick RothfussThe Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

From the Publisher: My name is Kvothe.

I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep.

You may have heard of me.

So begins a tale unequaled in fantasy literature—the story of a hero told in his own voice. It is a tale of sorrow, a tale of survival, a tale of one man’s search for meaning in his universe, and how that search, and the indomitable will that drove it, gave birth to a legend.

Personally hailed by Martin as “[t]he best epic fantasy I read last year…. He’s bloody good …” Rothfuss’s fantasy book is longer, more involved than other fantasy titles and yet is an extremely rewarding reading experience because of this. Taking a page from classic works like “Lord of the Rings,” he takes his time developing the story so that it leaves a lasting impact on you after finishing it.

Oh, how I love these fantasies! I hope you discover some new-to-you favorites here. Also be sure to check out the latest ebook deals for more can’t miss gems. Don’t miss a deal—subscribe to the daily newsletter and get free and almost free books in your favorite genre delivered right to your inbox.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*